Just Call Me Martha Stacey

Mini Project Monday: Plastic Glitter Cups

Posted on: March 4, 2013

I’m going for a mini-theme this week…bridal showers!

My sister got married last September so her bridesmaids and I threw her a lovely personal wedding shower in August.  We decided on a brunch theme for the menu and added some bling in the decor…nothing overboard, just some subtle touches!

More details about the menu/decor/games upcoming on Wednesday, but I wanted to show you how we added some shine to cheap plastic glasses that we used for our yogurt bar.

IMG_1069 I don’t have a great close up picture to show you.  I wanted pre-portioned servings of yogurt for the yogurt bar so the guests didn’t have to worry about it oozing into the other things on their plates.  I bought cheap plastic wine glasses from Dollarama…the ones with the band of ridge detail around the bottom.

I bought some glitter acrylic paint from Walmart and simply painted the ridge band.  The ridge band made it super easy to paint because I didn’t have to worry about making sure my lines were straight.

The paint I got wasn’t opaque enough to get the look I wanted with one coat so I played around with some other options (glitter and mod podge, epsom salts and glue) but they didn’t work out.  I ended up doing three coats of the glitter paint…thankfully I had help from the bride and other bridesmaids!

This project cost me about $3 and looked super cute, especially when the yogurt was actually in the cups!

More bridal shower goodness coming up for the rest of the week!

2 Responses to "Mini Project Monday: Plastic Glitter Cups"

[…] Mini Project Monday: Plastic Glitter Cups […]

[…] menu consisted of: Baked French Toast Yogurt Bar (vanilla yogurt served in plastic glitter cups, a variety of fruits and homemade granola) Bacon and Cheese  Quiche Vegetable Quiche Cinnamon […]

Leave a Reply

Archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 274 other followers

Categories

CraftGossip

Featured On:
Organize and Decorate Everything

