Just Call Me Martha Stacey

“Vinyl” Wall Art

Posted on: February 20, 2013

When I first designed Munchkin #1’s new room in my head, I wanted to do some vinyl wall art that said, "Boy: noise with dirt on it." It describes my little boy and his room had a bulkhead that would be perfect for what I had in mind.

My original inspiration was something I’d seen on Etsy…for $21USD, plus shipping.  I knew I could DIY it for WAY less than that!

I looked into getting some vinyl for my Cricut, but even at Walmart, it was $10 plus $10 for the transfer tape.

I was hesitant to buy it, since I wasn’t sure that one package of vinyl would be enough for what I wanted to do.

I’m SO glad I waited!

I was browsing Pinterest and came across a tutorial for how to use adhesive shelf lining from the dollar store as a cheap substitute for vinyl lettering.

I thought I’d give it a try, because really…if it didn’t work, I’d only be out $1.

Well, it totally worked.

IMG_2122

I cut the adhesive liner to fit my Cricut cutting mat and stuck it on with the paper side down.  I cut out the letters (5”) and then simply put them on the wall.

The tutorial I read talked about using masking tape in place of the transfer tape that is usually needed to transfer cut vinyl to whatever surface you want.  I didn’t bother with this because my letters were a very simple font.  If I were going to do a intricate design, I would use it to make sure that the design doesn’t fold onto itself and get ruined.

The W was the hardest letter to put on the wall but I was careful and with some fiddling, got it in the proper spot.

The only downside to the adhesive liner instead of real vinyl is that the liner does rip easily so you just have to be careful when handling it.

So in the end, this project cost me less than $1 (since I had leftover liner) instead of $20+!  Score!

1 Response to "“Vinyl” Wall Art"

Leave a Reply

Archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 274 other followers

Categories

CraftGossip

Featured On:
Organize and Decorate Everything

