Just Call Me Martha Stacey

Mini Project Monday: Anniversary Pillow

Posted on: February 10, 2013

I was reminded by a friend of mine that I completely missed my Mini Project Monday post last week.  I confess that I completely forgot about it…that was the day that I got my new iPhone and I was slightly distracted by playing with it!

But now that I am used to my new iPhone and it no longer distracts me for an entire evening, it is on to this week’s project…

IMG_2007
I made this anniversary date pillow with some micro suede that was leftover from our old living room slip covers.  I’d planned to make a pillow like this for ages since I saw one pinned on Pinterest and I finally decided to bite the bullet when our couch cushions started shedding tiny bits of leather.  I couldn’t handle the constant brown flecks of leather everywhere, so I stole the stuffing from the pillows and recycled into this cute pillow.

I used freezer paper to make a stencil, cutting out the numbers and ironing it onto the fabric.  If you haven’t used it before, freezer paper is awesome for making stencils to paint on fabric.  I also used it to make my Mr. & Mrs. Pillows and Scrabble Tile Pillows.  There’s lot of tutorials out there on using freezer paper…perhaps someday, I’ll remember to photograph the entire process and do my own!

You can use any old paint you want when painting the fabric…this is the same paint that I used in our family room to repaint the rocking chair and side table.  I waited for the paint to dry, took off the freezer paper and voila!  Anniversary date pillow.

I did make one mistake though…because I work in the health care field, I read the date as year-month-day.  It was called to my attention that not everyone reads this way when a friend asked, “What happened on August 5, 2010?”

We were married May 10, 2008 and that’s how I read the pillow.  Apparently not everyone does.  Oops!

Linking to:
Keeping It Simple: Motivate Me Monday
Cupcakes and Crinoline: Project Inspire(d) Link Party

1 Response to "Mini Project Monday: Anniversary Pillow"

What a sweet idea ~ my anniversary has passed but I think I will make one anyway ~ just because it’s such a perfect reminder of such a wonderful day! I found you through Monday Funday and would LOVE to have you share this at my new party, Project Inspire{d} ~ http://cupcakesandcrinoline.com/2013/02/project-inspired-link-party-week-1/

Thanks so much, Mary Beth

Leave a Reply

Archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 274 other followers

Categories

Top Posts & Pages

CraftGossip

Featured On:
Organize and Decorate Everything

