Just Call Me Martha Stacey

Master Bedroom Reveal

Posted on: February 6, 2013

As I mentioned at the beginning of the year when I was reviewing my Home Goals for 2012, our master bedroom is almost finished.  The only things left to add are a full length mirror (that isn’t in the budget right now) and a quick art project (that requires me to have a printer that isn’t out of ink!).

IMG_2043

The bedroom is finally in a state where photographing it is acceptable so I thought I would show you the changes we’ve made in there.  I love how bright it is now!

When we were first married, the wall was a colour called Cappuccino and we had a brown and blue bedroom set.  Here’s a peek at the “before”:

IMG_0378

Photo Credit:  Toniette Giesbrecht (tonnigphotographer.com)

This picture was taken when I was pregnant with Munchkin#1 but since I chronically fail at taking “before” pictures, it’s the only one I have of our original bedroom decor.  Between the brown duvet cover, black furniture and brown sheer curtains, the bedroom felt way too dark and I got fed up with it after about two years.

The black furniture had to stay so I decided to lighten everything else in the room.  I painted the wall in Oatmeal and took the duvet cover off the duvet, leaving just the white linen.  I sold the metal headboard and upholstered one of my own.

IMG_2044

I replaced the brown curtains with ones that I sewed myself, from cranberry blackout fabric…a necessity for shift-workers!  I used grommets so it is easy to push the curtains to the side to let in the light during the day.

You can see my Mr. & Mrs. pillows that I made ages ago..they fit into this colour scheme better than the brown/blue one.

IMG_2041

I hesitated about buying another Expedit for the wall opposite our bed but I LOVE all the storage potential it offers.  Right now, it’s holding some of my scrapbooking supplies while the craft room is under construction.

IMG_2043

Here’s the first shot again…I DIY’d the industrial chic wall sconces about eight months ago.  Hubby’s bedside table is a little bare, but I have a mini project planned that will bring another hit of cranberry away from the curtains.

I love how nice the bedroom looks with the bed made.  I never understood making the bed when it would only get messed up again in 14-16 hours.

I understand now…I feel like I totally have my life together when the bed is made!

TDC Before and After
1 Response to "Master Bedroom Reveal"

Boo to making the bed. Though I do like it when the bed is made look-wise, I can’t stand making it and it seems colder when you get into the bed at night. How I wish you could make a bed but have it be as cozy as when it’s not made…

Leave a Reply

Archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 274 other followers

Categories

CraftGossip

Featured On:
Organize and Decorate Everything

