Just Call Me Martha Stacey

Tasty Tuesday: Orecchiette with Spicy Sausage

Posted on: January 22, 2013

I have a ridiculous number of clipped recipes that I want to try…eventually.  I’ve promised myself that I will try two new recipes per month so I can finally add the ones I like into my recipe book (nothing goes in until it has been tested).

This week, I tried a recipe for Orecchiette with Spicy Sausage that I had clipped from a Food Network magazine.  It was a spur of the moment decision so I had to make several substitutions, but nothing that altered the taste or presentation significantly.  Below is the original recipe, with my substitutions in brackets.

The recipe says it makes four servings…they are rather large servings.  I would say it serves 6.  We had this recipe for supper last night with my Homemade French Bread.  It will definitely be added to the regular rotation…but I’ll half the recipe next time (we have LOTS of leftovers!).  I think it would be great with sautéed chicken instead of sausage too!

IMG_1980

Orecchiette with Spicy Sausage

12 oz orecchiette pasta (I used macaroni pasta)
2 tbsp extra virgin olive oil, plus more for drizzling (I omitted this completely)
8 oz spicy sausage, casings removed
2 spring onions, thinly sliced, plus more for serving (I used half a yellow onion, sliced thinly)
2 cloves garlic, thinly sliced
8 oz cremini mushrooms
fresh ground pepper and salt to taste
2 cups cherry tomatoes, halved (I used 2 cups chopped tomatoes)
1/2 cup low-sodium chicken broth
1/2 cup grated pecorino or parmesan cheese, plus more for serving

Bring a pot of salted water to a boil.  Add pasta and cook per package direction.

Heat olive oil in large skillet over medium heat.  Add sausage and cook, breaking up with wooden spoon until it starts to brown.

Add onions and cooked until softened, about three minutes.

Add garlic, mushrooms and salt and pepper to taste; cook, stirring occasionally until mushrooms start to brown, about 3 minutes.

Add tomatoes and cook until softened slightly, about 3 minutes.

Drain pasta and reserve 1 cup of cooking water.

Add broth to skillet and cook, stirring, about 1 minute.  Stir in pasta and cheese, adding some of the pasta water if needed (I didn’t need to, probably because of the extra water from using regular tomatoes vs. cherry tomatoes).

Season with salt and pepper.  Serve drizzled with olive oil and topped with more cheese and spring onions.

Leave a Reply

Archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 274 other followers

Categories

CraftGossip

Featured On:
Organize and Decorate Everything

