Just Call Me Martha Stacey

New Year’s Organizing Revolution: Family Room

Posted on: January 22, 2013

The final week of the Organizing Revolution Challenge is to tackle family rooms or play rooms.  Our family room is easily the messiest room in our house, since this is where we spend most of our time.  Munchkin #1 has all his toys in this room and no matter how tidy it is when I go to bed, it’s always a disaster in the morning when he wakes up early and wants to play.

For this reason, I didn’t want to tackle the whole room quite yet, but I decided to focus on the entertainment unit.  Some day, I want beautiful built-in cabinetry to house our electronics and with extra space for toy storage.

IMG_1979

IMG_1986

As you can see, the entertainment unit is a definite “problem-area” (please excuse the wacky lighting differences in the pictures!!). Especially the top surface.  It’s ideal for stashing things that we want out of Munchkin #1’s way, and always gathers a lovely pile of junk soon after I clean it.

I cleaned every thing off the top and out of the cabinet before I returned things that belong in other rooms (I found a TONNE of bobby pins!).  I managed to fit everything else into the cabinet so the top is empty except a catch-all basket and our digital picture frame.

IMG_1988

Everything in the cabinet has a specific home now, either in a basket or box or standing on the DVD shelf.  Munchkin’s MickeyMouse DVDs are in the bottom…out of sight, out of mind, right?  Please?

IMG_1987

Hubby noticed the new organization right away but said something along the lines of it not lasting long…I hope I can prove him wrong!

A Bowl Full of Lemons
2 Responses to "New Year’s Organizing Revolution: Family Room"

This was the absolute best part of getting rid of the GIANT entertainment unit I was hauling all over the city with me. No more clutter around my television!! Just a simple stand with room for all the video game consoles and nothing else.

Good for you! I hope your newly organized cabinet works well for you. Having a definite place for everything makes it easier to maintain, doesn’t it?

Leave a Reply

Archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 274 other followers

Categories

CraftGossip

Featured On:
Organize and Decorate Everything

