Just Call Me Martha Stacey

New Years Organizing Revolution: Week Three

Posted on: January 16, 2013

This week, the challenge is to organize our closets.  All four of our closets need attention, but I picked Munchkin#1’s closet…probably because it was going to be the easiest!  Here is the finished product…

IMG_1969

The long-term plan is to have nifty closet organizers with double rods and shelves (I have my eye on a specific type from Wal-Mart) but that isn’t in the budget at the moment.  Instead, I simply cleaned out Munchkin’s closet and moved some things around to make them fit better.

Here’s a peek at where it started…

IMG_1775

I took out his clothes, packing away the ones that are too small and getting rid of those I know I’ll never dress him in…why is that easier with kids clothes than my own?  I organized his shirts into t-shirts, long-sleeved shirts and sweaters, using the natural divisions in the wire shelf to guide me.  I took out the empty diaper boxes and other stuff that didn’t belong (like an empty paint can from when I painted his room…18 months ago).

The huge blue tote is where I stash all the clothes that are too small, waiting for Munchkin #2 to grow into them.  I stole the plastic drawer organizer from another closet and it will keep hand-me-downs that are still too big.  The blue cloth organizers hold stuffed animals and provide a place for tomorrow’s clothes to go (hubby has learned to ask what I want him to wear before dressing him to avoid having to change into something else!).

Munchkin has a big six drawer dresser in his room so there isn’t that much in his closet…hopefully I can keep it this tidy until we add the shelves and double rods!

Linking to:
Organize and Decorate Everything: Point of View Party

A Bowl Full of Lemons
2 Responses to "New Years Organizing Revolution: Week Three"

Nice work! so easy to know just where everything is now. Thanks for sharing!

Looks great! We have closet floors that look like that too ;/ Thanks for linking up to Point of View!

Leave a Reply

Archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 274 other followers

Categories

CraftGossip

Featured On:
Organize and Decorate Everything

