Just Call Me Martha Stacey

Tasty Tuesday: Berry Cream Muffins

Posted on: January 15, 2013

Time for Tasty Tuesday!  This week’s recipe for Berry Cream Muffins comes from the Taste of Home Cookbook.

I tried this recipe for the first time last week and I think it’s destined to become my “go-to” muffin recipe.  I hesitated when I looked at nutrition information, seeing that each muffin rang in at 241 calories.  Yikes.

Then I looked over the ingredients again and realized there was room to cut some calories.  I replaced the sour cream with my homemade 1% yogurt, which reduced the calories in the whole recipe by 370.  I managed to get 16 muffins instead of just 12 so my muffins clocked in at 160 calories.

Next time, I’m going to replace half the oil with unsweetened applesauce, which would bring the calorie count down to 130 (for 16 muffins)!

No picture right now, but I’ll take and upload one tomorrow!

Berry Cream Muffins

2 cups all-purpose flour
1 cup sugar
1/2 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp salt
1-1/2 cups fresh/frozen berries (I used raspberries)
1/2 cup vegetable oil (or 1/4 cup vegetable oil and 1/4 cup unsweetened applesauce)
1/2 tsp vanilla extract

Combine flour, sugar, baking powder, baking soda and salt in a large bowl.

Add berries and stir gently

Combine eggs, sour cream, oil and vanilla.  Stir into dry ingredients until just combined.

Fill greased muffins cups two-thirds full.

Bake at 400 degrees for 18-22 minutes or until a toothpick comes out clean.

Cool for 5 minutes before removing to wire rack.

Leave a Reply

Archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 274 other followers

Categories

CraftGossip

Featured On:
Organize and Decorate Everything

