Just Call Me Martha Stacey

New Year’s Organizing Revolution: Week Two

Posted on: January 10, 2013

So week two of the Organizing Revolution over at A Bowl Full of Lemons is tackling the kitchen.  I’m not going to lie, I was a little hesitant over this one.

My kitchen hasn’t been touched (beyond daily cleaning such as dishes and wiping the counters) since Munchkin#2 was born.  Between coming home with a new baby and the whirlwind of activity that was Christmas, deep cleaning or organizing the kitchen wasn’t really my top priority.

I didn’t really have faith in my ability to get the entire kitchen organized this week so I only snapped a few “before” pictures before I got to work during nap time.

IMG_1898

IMG_1772

IMG_1771

I got on a roll, though and ended up organizing all but two of my kitchen cabinets…the snack cabinet and the cabinet above the fridge that only holds stuff we rarely use.

IMG_1891

I moved my cookie sheets and cooling racks into the cabinet underneath the sink, taking advantage of the long, narrow space.  They work much better in here, instead of sliding out of a precarious stack and ending up on the floor when I try to get to the one at the bottom of the pile.

IMG_1843

The pantry cabinet is WAY more functional now that everything is labeled and has a specific home.  However, I realized quickly that the round white baskets aren’t exactly the most efficient use of space.  Diaper wipe refill boxes fit much better and give me more space to store pantry goods, so I’ll be replacing the baskets over time as we buy more wipes (with a new baby, that will be easy!).  I have a project up my sleeve to make them look a little more appealing that will be featured on an upcoming Mini Project Monday.

IMG_1892

I love that I can see all my baking dishes now and know exactly where everything fits properly.  I plan to make labels to hold myself (and maybe hubby 🙂 ) accountable when putting away the dishes.

IMG_1893

I can see everything in my baking cabinet now as well…and better yet, won’t start making a recipe only to find that I am out of an ingredient, or three!

IMG_1899

No more falling appliances!  Everything in the small appliances cabinet is accessible without risking bodily harm to myself.

IMG_1900

My counters are clear!  Love it!  Now, I just have to figure out what to do with the box of “stuff that doesn’t belong here but I don’t know where to put it”.  The white bucket to the right of the sink is for holding overflow dishes once the dishwasher is full because I HATE dirty dishes everywhere…now to get hubby to use it!

2 Responses to "New Year’s Organizing Revolution: Week Two"

I’m impressed!! Ha – my kitchen looks much more like this now that I have “doors”. NOT gonna take pictures of the insides of the cupboards though.

It looks gorgeous, Stace! I’m somewhat inspired to maybe perhaps do this with my own kitchen. Of course it’s really rather smaller than yours so there’s that…

Of course, I did spend time reading all those organization blogs at the Bowl Full of Lemons and I’m tempted to re-arrange the apartment for the better…

Leave a Reply

Archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 274 other followers

Categories

Top Posts & Pages

CraftGossip

Featured On:
Organize and Decorate Everything

