Just Call Me Martha Stacey

Tasty Tuesday: Olive Oil Granola

Posted on: January 8, 2013

Welcome to Tasty Tuesday…where I share a new recipe that I’ve tried and love!

I’ve never been a real granola fan…until I found a recipe for Olive Oil Granola featured by the New York Times.  I’m not sure what prompted me to try it, but I did and I love it!  I mix it with some apricot jam and my homemade yogurt for a bedtime snack.  It’s almost like eating dessert!  I adapted the recipe to add/subtract ingredients that I like/dislike so here is my version.

A word to the wise, however:  it is NOT calorie-wise!  Eat in moderation.

Olive Oil Granola with Dried Apricots

3 cups old-fashioned rolled oats
1.5 cup raw almonds, chopped
1.5 cup raw peanuts, chopped
1 cup raw sunflower seeds, hulled
3/4 cup maple syrup
1/2 cup extra virgin olive oil
1/2 cup packed brown sugar
1/2 tsp cinnamon
1/2 tsp nutmeg
1.5 cups dried apricots, chopped

Combine oats, almonds, peanuts and sunflower seeds in large bowl.

Combine maple syrup, extra virgin olive oil, brown sugar, cinnamon and nutmeg; stir into oat mixture.

Spread mixture evenly onto a rimmed baking sheet; bake at 300 degrees for 45 minutes or until golden brown, stirring every 10 minutes.

Transfer to large bowl; stir in apricots.  Serve with yogurt, etc., and store in airtight container.

Leave a Reply

Archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 274 other followers

Categories

CraftGossip

Featured On:
Organize and Decorate Everything

