Just Call Me Martha Stacey

Mini Project Monday: Jute Covered Boxes

Posted on: January 7, 2013

I’m going to start a new series, featuring mini projects that don’t take a lot of time or money…come back every Monday to check out a new project.

The inaugural Mini Project Monday is inspired by one of my most recent Pinterest finds.  I love storage baskets of all shapes and sizes but hate the price tag that usually comes with the cuteness.  DIY Design Fanatic featured a tutorial for twine covered cardboard boxes and I knew I would be trying it out soon.

With a new baby in the house, there will be a lot of these boxes coming in over the next few years:

IMG_1869

I already had some jute twine leftover from Christmas when I made new matching stockings for the four of us (I’ll feature that project eventually…when mentioning Christmas seems more appropriate again!).  I bought WAY too much so this was a perfect way to use it.

I  simply used my glue gun and wrapped the jute around the box, gluing as I went.  I lost track of how many glue sticks I used.

I couldn’t be bothered to make a real lining for the inside but I wanted it to look like it was lined.  I had some fabric that I bought ages ago (and can’t remember what I had intended it for) so I cut a strip to go around the top of the box.  I glued the raw edges under, glued it around the outside of the box and then folded it down on the inside to cover the top edge.

And here it is…a totally free, cute storage box.

IMG_1866

It was free, but definitely time-consuming.  It took me upwards of three hours to finish the whole thing because I was pretty particular about how I glued the jute on.  Next time, I’ll get the thicker jute so it takes less time to cover the box, but I still have more than one roll left so I’ll be making a couple more like this one first.

Linking to:
Keeping It Simple: Motivate Me Monday
Making The World Cuter: Making the World Cuter Monday
A Bowl Fun of Lemons: One Project at a Time
Today’s Creative Blog: Get Your Craft On
Blissful and Domestic: Feature Friday Linky Party

3 Responses to "Mini Project Monday: Jute Covered Boxes"

What a cute box! I love how jute looks and using it to turn an ordinary box into beautiful storage is such a wonderful idea! Thanks for sharing…and for the heads up on how time consuming the project is. 🙂

I must say, I do love the end result and I’ve seen how expensive those kinds of things are in the store, so it’s definitely a money saver. Mostly I really just wanted to see what the heck Jute was because I was beyond perplexed when the title popped up on my Facebook feed. Well done! It’s very pretty.

[…] few weeks ago, I featured a Jute Covered Box.  This is similar, except it’s a […]

Leave a Reply

Archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 274 other followers

Categories

CraftGossip

Featured On:
Organize and Decorate Everything

