Just Call Me Martha Stacey

Challenge Accepted: New Year’s Organizing Revolution

Posted on: January 2, 2013

A Bowl Full of Lemons and 6 other great bloggers are hosting a New Year’s Organizing Revolution…4 weeks of organizing challenges and I’m jumping on board, even though I can’t win any prizes.

The week 1 challenge is to organize the home office/desk area of our homes.  I don’t have a full functioning office area in my home…the plan is to carve out some office space in the basement craft room once that project is finished.

For now, I have a small cabinet in our kitchen that serves as my “office”.  I was excited that the home office was the first challenge because I recently purged a lot of old paperwork in a pre-baby nesting frenzy, so half the work was already done for me.

IMG_1773

I’m terrible at remembering to file away paperwork such as investment statements and paid bills right away so they usually end up piled up on the kitchen counter or dining room table.  I also needed a way to corral the forms and papers that require action before I lose them and have to frantically search for them at the last minute.

I was inspired by A Bowl Full of Lemons post about her mail station and made one of my own to keep the paper piles from returning.

IMG_1839

I scored the black file folder at Walmart for $10 and it came with 12 hanging files.  I used the same categories as the inspiration post (Incoming Mail, Outgoing Mail, To File, To Pay, Sign and Return, and one for each member of the family) but I added an additional file called Scrapbooking.  This will hold all my mementos safely until I can stash them with the rest of my scrapbooking supplies or get them into an album.

I printed the calendar from a website that offers free monthly calendars (I don’t remember what it was, but there are tons available) and clipped it to the front of the folder with decorative binder clips.

IMG_1834

I organized all my office supplies into two shoe boxes, using glass jars to separate different smaller items such as sticky notes, pens and pencils and chalk.  The box on the right has less used items like blank notebooks, labels and envelopes.

IMG_1841

As you can see, there isn’t a lot of space in my little cabinet but it does hold the two boxes of office supplies, a tray with phone books, a canvas-covered box for more permanent filing (taxes, insurance, etc) and a box of things to shred until I finally break down and invest in a shredder.  I labeled the three boxes and also found room to store my recipe book, which hasn’t had a home of its own before.

I can’t wait to have a full functioning office space in the basement but for now, this little tiny space will definitely serve the purpose!

A Bowl Full of Lemons
4 Responses to "Challenge Accepted: New Year’s Organizing Revolution"

Great work, Stacey. If you ever run out, you know where our office is 🙂

What a great job with the space you had to work with.

Always a fun read!

[…] Challenge Accepted: New Year’s Organizing Revolution […]

Leave a Reply

Archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 274 other followers

Categories

CraftGossip

Featured On:
Organize and Decorate Everything

