Just Call Me Martha Stacey

My Return to Blogging

Posted on: December 31, 2012

Well, it has been a long time since I logged into WordPress and channeled my creativity into a blog post.  Almost ten months.  Just long enough to conceive, gestate and deliver a baby.

Which is exactly what I did.  Munchkin baby #2 was born two weeks ago and is a skinnier (didn’t think it was possible) version of his big brother.

So now, I have 11 more months off work (yay Canada!!) and my urge to blog and be creative has returned in full force.  I have big plans for our home in the upcoming year…most of which my husband knows about.

I’m going to post my Home Goals for 2013 tomorrow but figured I should review how I did on my goals for 2012. I had wanted to redo our master bedroom, build a deck and semi-finish the basement.

1.  Master Bedroom
Our master bedroom is thisclose to being finished to my satisfaction.  So far, I made new cranberry coloured blackout curtains, upholstered a headboard, made some
candle wall sconces and sewed some throw pillows.  The only thing I want to add is a full length mirror but I’m not entirely sure where it’s going to go.  I never did end up attempting the sequined pillow…but I did spot some sequined trim the last time I was at Fabricland, so maybe someday!

I’ll do a full post about the bedroom once it’s clean enough to be photographed!

2.  Deck
The deck didn’t happen.  At all.  We talked about it…and then bought drywall and 2×4’s for the basement instead.

3.  Semi-Finished Basement
I’m so glad I used the term “semi-finished” when I wrote these home goals; otherwise, I would have completely failed this goal too.  Hubby and brother-in-law wired the basement for more lights and electrical outlets, which is definitely a must for my scrapbooking needs.  All the walls are framed and most of them are at least partially drywalled.  The “man cave” has laminate flooring and just needs a coat or two of paint.

So I’d give myself a 60% score for this year’s home goals…hoping for better in 2013!

2 Responses to "My Return to Blogging"

Sounds pretty good to me, considering you were pregnant & not feeling 100 percent part of the year! Your first paragraph is spoken like the nurse you are 🙂 Love you 4, Grandma D

[…] I mentioned at the beginning of the year when I was reviewing my Home Goals for 2012, our master bedroom is almost finished.  The only things left to add are a full length mirror […]

Leave a Reply

Archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 274 other followers

Categories

Top Posts & Pages

CraftGossip

Featured On:
Organize and Decorate Everything

