Just Call Me Martha Stacey

Another IKEA Makeover

Posted on: March 26, 2012

My plan to spread the gorgeous “Room in Versailles” colour around my family room continues…this time in the form of a chair frame.

We bought the IKEA Lillberg rocking chair over two years ago when we were putting together the nursery for munchkin.  It had nice thick cushions so I figured it would be plenty comfy for those middle of the night feedings.  Except for one thing…

It didn’t rock.

Like, at all.

It was really hard to create a rocking motion, a serious calf workout and I wasn’t too impressed.  So my mom graciously bought us a new (actual) rocking chair and the IKEA chair was relegated to our bedroom until last month.

We had a Superbowl party, as we always do, and a friend of ours broke the papasan chair base that was in the family room.  I thanked him profusely for breaking it…he didn’t believe me when I said I wanted to get rid of it, but I think I managed to convince him.

So the papasan went to the garage for eventual disposal and the IKEA chair went down to the family room, where it fits much easier than in our bedroom.

I primed the frame with Zinsser CoverStain Primer, painted it with the RONA “Room in Versailles” paint and added a coat of poly to protect it  (I’m terrible at remembering to take ‘before’ pictures, so you just get to see the after).

 

If I were to do it again, I would dissemble the chair before priming/painting.  I didn’t do that because I seemed to remember that it was complicated to put together in the first place, but it was way more complicated to paint it while still assembled.  The seat is adjustable so the frame kept moving while I was trying to paint it.

However, despite those difficulties, it turned out great…doesn’t it look fabulous with the new accent fabric for the bolster pillow?

Linking To:
Lines Across My Face: Cure for the Common Monday
Organize and Decorate Everything: Home Decor & Organizing Link Party

Tags: ,

4 Responses to "Another IKEA Makeover"

Looks great – and yes, I love the accent cushion!

Sure does look great, Stacey!!

[…] About Martha Stacey Another IKEA Makeover […]

Looks amazing. I used to have this chair, now I wish I had kept it. Would love for you to share this at my furniture party:
http://www.decoratinginsanity.com/2012/03/furniture-friday-11-link-party.html
xo…mONICa

Leave a Reply

Archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 274 other followers

Categories

CraftGossip

Featured On:
Organize and Decorate Everything

