Just Call Me Martha Stacey

Canvas Covered Diaper Boxes

Posted on: January 2, 2012

I had great intentions of starting off the year with some goals I want to accomplish for my home this year, but that will have to wait until tomorrow!

You ever have a project that in reality, should take about an hour of work to complete, but ends up taking weeks (or months?)?

This is one of those projects.

I’ve saved every empty diaper box we’ve acquired since our munchkin was born almost two years ago.  Five of them are in our master bedroom, covered in contact paper to add extra storage capacity in our closet (until that time when I have one of those dream closets from the IKEA commercials…PAX, how I covet you!).

I saw a tutorial on Shanty To Chic and immediately knew I would be trying it…eventually.  I’m pretty sure it was at least a year ago that I found the link.  I covered the first box in, like, November and just finished the last three today.

That's right, I coordinated my closet interior with the living room

I bought a canvas drop cloth at Rona (free with my gift certificates redeemed with AirMiles).  I couldn’t find small ones so I ended up getting the largest size (it’s something like 12x20ft…it’ll cover seven diaper boxes with plenty left over for other projects!).

I followed the tutorial, using spray adhesive to attach the canvas to the boxes.  I toyed with the idea of adding a liner to the inside, but since these boxes were destined for the upper shelf of our front closet, I got lazy decided against it.  I like the numbers but I think I’ll need more descriptive labels to describe what’s in the boxes.  Instead I put a grosgrain ribbon around the top and will decide on what kind of label I want later.

I organized our front entryway closet to include the new boxes…

IMG_0542IMG_0543

Leave a Reply

Archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 274 other followers

Categories

Top Posts & Pages

CraftGossip

Featured On:
Organize and Decorate Everything

