Just Call Me Martha Stacey

My Dream Come True!

Posted on: December 1, 2011

I’ve dreamed about having a window seat in our great room underneath our front window since we looked at the model home.  That was four years ago.  Here’s what the front window looked like before:

DSCN2195

Last week, installation day finally arrived…and I literally did a happy dance.

It’s true.  My dad thought I was crazy.

Speaking of my father, huge amounts of thanks have to go in his direction.  When I gave him the Rona gift certificate to purchase the MDF, I thought he’d just cut it into the appropriate sizes.  I should have known better.

My dad routered the edges of the MDF to curve the exposed edges and constructed the base to accommodate for the floor vent that is located directly where I wanted the window seat to go.  He made the whole structure so it could be put together with some nails and wood glue…above and beyond!

Since it was MDF, I used two coats of primer followed by two coats of white semi-gloss paint.  Dad came over and I helped him (minimally) put it together.

I found some fabulous fabric at Fabricland…a gorgeous green paisley print that was a slight departure from my normal style but I love it!.  I purchased some 3 inch upholstery foam and cotton batting from Lens Mills.

I also sewed the drapes myself from green ‘blackout’ fabric that I got for $10/metre…down from $24/metre (I LOVE Fabricland sales…I don’t think I’ve ever paid full price for fabric!).  I added grommets and spray painted the existing curtain rod silver.

IMG_0108

Doesn’t it look fabulous?  It’s another one of those projects where I keep looking at it and giving myself a mental pat on the back with a side of gleeful happy dance 🙂  I love the baskets underneath, which will hold my finished scrapbooks and that two of them are still empty…lots of room to expand!

I also picked up a few other fabrics for throw pillows but I will save those for the whole living room reveal…it will be the first room in the house to match the vision I have in my head!

Linked to:
Remodelaholic: Remodelaholics Anonymous Link Party
Lines Across My Face: Cure for the Common Monday
Making The World Cuter: Making the World Cuter Monday
Organize and Decorate Everything: Organizing and Home Decor Link Party

TDC Before and After
2 Responses to "My Dream Come True!"

Awesome! So happy for you and your dance. I an only imagine how happy you are to have it there, and finished! 🙂

The 4 year wait adds to the excitement of th finished project! It looks great!

Leave a Reply

Archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 274 other followers

Categories

CraftGossip

Featured On:
Organize and Decorate Everything

