Just Call Me Martha Stacey

Mr. & Mrs. Pillows

Posted on: August 21, 2011

This is the first project that I’ve pinned on Pinterest that I’ve actually completed…hopefully more to come soon!

I found these adorable pillows while browsing on the Internet forever ago and knew I had to make some for myself.  I finally got around to making them this past week.  I used fabric that I salvaged from the ugly slipcovers that graced our old couch and chair in the living room.

I picked up some freezer paper from the Superstore (couldn’t find it at Walmart) for $5…and the instructions for making stencils for fabric are printed right on the box…basically, iron the stencil on with plastic side towards the fabric.

I chose Segoe Script as my font but unfortunately, it isn’t the biggest font.  To get it the proper size for the pillows, I had to print it off as big as possible, scan it back into my computer and edit it in the Paint program, enlarging it 400%.

I printed the mrs. (knowing I could use the same template to make the mr. as well) and traced it onto the paper size of the freezer paper, doing the same for the mr.  Then came the tedious part of the project:  cutting out the stencil.  I don’t profess to have great patience when cutting out intricate things and usually end up rushing through it.  I forced myself to take my time and the effort was well worth it.

I ironed the freezer paper onto the fabric (using setting 2 of 6 on my iron) and was surprised at how easily it adhered.  I didn’t have any problem getting the smaller pieces between the letters to stick exactly where I wanted it.

I painted inside the stencil with black acrylic paint and because I was so anxious to see how it would turn out, I took the freezer paper off right away.  I had been a little afraid that some of the paint would bleed through but it didn’t and the pillows turned out perfectly!

I have another pillow project involving freezer paper and paint coming up…stay tuned!

Linking To:
Keeping It Simple:  Motivate Me Monday
Lines Across My Face:  Cure for the Common Monday
Making The World Cuter: Making the World Cuter Monday
Organize and Decorate Everything:  Organizing and Home Decor Link Party
Remodelaholic: Remodelaholics Anonymous Link Party & PinHead Link Party
Addicted to Decorating:  Addicts (Not So) Anonymous Link Party
Today’s Creative Blog: Get Your Craft On Tuesday

8 Responses to "Mr. & Mrs. Pillows"

Very nice, Stacey!!

Cute! I like the font you chose. I would love it if you would stop by and share at the crafty link party going on right now at Lines Across My Face. I hope to see you soon,
Rachel
http://linesacrossmyface.blogspot.com/2011/08/cure-for-common-monday-5.html

Fun idea!

Such a cute idea!

Really cute!! I have seen those pillows around the www too and have considered making them. great job!! 🙂

I’ve been wanting to make pillows that say the same thing. Thanks for the inspiration!

[…] can see my Mr. & Mrs. pillows that I made ages ago..they fit into this colour scheme better than the brown/blue […]

[…] freezer paper is awesome for making stencils to paint on fabric.  I also used it to make my Mr. & Mrs. Pillows and Scrabble Tile Pillows.  There’s lot of tutorials out there on using freezer […]

Leave a Reply

Archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 274 other followers

Categories

CraftGossip

Featured On:
Organize and Decorate Everything

