Just Call Me Martha Stacey

$40 Kijiji Find

Posted on: August 7, 2011

We’re in the process of decorating a new room downstairs for our munchkin and with that, he’s getting new ‘big boy’ furniture.  Our little baby is quite rambunctious and likes to get into anything he can get his hands on.

The dresser in his nursery is taller than it is wide, which can be dangerous for a toddler for with a tendency to get into trouble.  It’s secured to the wall, but for his new room, I wanted to find one that was wider than it was tall and avoid the issue all together.  I looked at the local Salvation Army and found one option but the drawers didn’t slide out very nicely so I passed on that and started looking on Kijiji.

I found a contemporary dresser and purchased it for $40…I love having an SUV that makes such purchases possible on the spur of the moment!  It was a nice espresso colour and for a brief moment, I debated putting it in my living room instead redoing it for munchkin (a gouge in the top from transport ruined that idea).

I fixed the nick in the top with wood filler and my friend and priming partner extraordinaire Shanno came over to help me prime.  Once again, I forgot to take a proper before picture (one of these days I’ll get the hang of proper photography during the entire project) but you can see the colour that the dresser was originally.

The dresser got two coats of Zinsser CoverStain primer and then three coats of RONA Eco Moonstone paint.  I then used two applications of Minwax Polycrylic protective coat (water-based with the blue label)…you know, just in case munchkin gets wild with the crayons some day.

For the handles, I debated whether to paint them silver or the blue that will become the accent colour and finally settled on silver, since it will coordinate with the handles I have in mind for the captain’s bed.  I used one coat of primer on the handles and used metallic silver spray paint before attaching them back to the drawers.

I learned that even if you think the drawers are all the same, you should ALWAYS label them when you take them out for painting…trying to get them back into the right spots in the dresser structure was very frustrating (and I’m not convinced that I have it right yet).

I’m so happy with the way the dresser has turned out and look forward to seeing it all together with the rest of the updates in munchkin’s room…unless I end up stealing the dresser and putting it in my laundry room!

Linking To:
Keeping it Simple: Motivate Me Monday
Making the World Cuter: Making the World Cuter Monday
Organize and Decorate Everything: Home Decor and Organizing Link Party
Addicted to Decorating: Addicts (not so) Anonymous Link Party
Remodelaholic: Remodelaholics Anonymous Link Party
Thrifty Decor Chick: September Before and After Link Party

4 Responses to "$40 Kijiji Find"

Nice dresser, looks like lots of space for clothes.

He inherited that tendency to climb things from you, which is why the dresser in your room was also wider than it was high. Nice finishing job!

Hi this is Taylor from the Hannah Handmade team. I think this is such a cute idea! I always need ideas to refurbish different pieces of furniture! This is great! This week Hannah is having a Creating smiles week and a couple of giveaways so if you want go check it out! 🙂 I am your newest follower! Come follow us back?
http://hannahhandmade.blogspot.com/
http://www.facebook.com/#!/pages/Hannah-Handmade/200408909971427

[…] fabric waiting to be made into accent pillows too. -finish munchkin’s bed and dresser  Yes, the dresser and bed are both done! -four scrapbook pages  I think I finished these the first day of August, […]

Leave a Reply

Archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 274 other followers

Categories

CraftGossip

Featured On:
Organize and Decorate Everything

