Just Call Me Martha Stacey

I’m SO not a runner…

Posted on: April 11, 2011

…at least, I didn’t used to be!

Last November, I started a Couch-to-5k (C25K) program to supplement my efforts to get in shape and lose my pregnancy weight.  I wasn’t exactly a couch-potato at the time (I had been exercising 4x/week regularly), but I did not like running AT ALL!

The first week of C25K calls for a 5-minute warmup, 8 intervals of 1 min running/1.5 min walking.  I thought I was going to die by the end of my first workout and my lungs were not happy either.

Once I got into the program, it was pretty smooth, except for week five.  I repeated the first two runs of Week Five several times and I was really scared to try the third run, which included 20 minutes of consecutive running.  But I did it on the first try!  That’s when I knew I could finish the program and I didn’t have any more hiccoughs after that.

Yesterday, I participated in the Run for Retina in London, finishing my first 5k race.  I was really apprehensive going into it because most of my training was done on the treadmill and I didn’t know if I could maintain my pace very well without the treadmill to set it for me.  My goal, based on a 3k outdoor run I had done earlier in the week was to finish in under 40 minutes.

My final time was…33m 47s!

I was stunned when I looked at my official time and I was so proud of myself.  I couldn’t have gotten anywhere near that fast 5 months ago!

If you want to try the C25K program (and I highly recommend it), I found on the Cool Runnings website.

2 Responses to "I’m SO not a runner…"

SO proud of your efforts – way to go!!

Congratulations, Stacey – you’ve done so well !!!!!!!!!!!!! You’re an inspiration for me (though I think I’ll stick to walking briskly 🙂

Leave a Reply

Archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 274 other followers

Categories

CraftGossip

Featured On:
Organize and Decorate Everything

