Just Call Me Martha Stacey

Ham and Asparagus Strata

Posted on: April 7, 2011

My sister had a HUGE stack of recipes that she had saved over the years and while at my house a while ago, she sorted through them and discarded a lot of them.

This recipe was one of the rejects from Taste of Home magazine that I thought looked good, so I saved the recipe and tried it tonight…delicious!  I’m not usually a big fan of eggs but this strata is easy to assemble and tastes so good.  I intended to halve the recipe (the original makes 6-8 servings) to feed just me, hubby and baby but I accidentally added the original portion (so double what I should have) of cheese and ham…ooops!  It wasn’t very calorie-wise but it sure was good!  I don’t know if I’d like it without the double cheese and ham, haha!

Overnight Asparagus Strata
1 pound fresh asparagus (trimmed & cut into 1-inch pieces)
4 English muffins, split and toasted
2 cups shredded cheese (I used a combination of mozzarella and cheddar)
1 cup diced fully cooked ham
1/2 cup chopped red pepper
8 eggs
2 cups milk
1 tsp salt
1 tsp ground mustard
1/4 tsp pepper

1.  Precook asparagus however you choose…I steamed mine.
2.  Arrange six English muffin halves, cut side up in a greased 13×9 baking dish.  Fill spaces with remaining English muffin halves.  Sprinkle with 1 cup cheese, asparagus, ham and red pepper.
3.  In a bowl, whisk together eggs, milk, salt, mustard and pepper; pour over muffins.  Cover and refrigerate overnight.
4.  Remove from refrigerator 30 minutes before baking.  Sprinkle with remaining cheese.
5.  Bake, uncovered at 375 degrees for 40-45 minutes.  Let stand for 5 minutes before cutting.

Yield: 6-8 servings.

1 Response to "Ham and Asparagus Strata"

Sounds good – I copied it for further use 🙂

Leave a Reply

Archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 274 other followers

Categories

CraftGossip

Featured On:
Organize and Decorate Everything

