Just Call Me Martha Stacey

Home Management Binder, Almost Complete!

Posted on: April 1, 2011

I wrote a few weeks ago about an organizing challenge I was participating in over at IHeart Organizing.  Well the month has finished but I haven’t!

Actually, I’m quite close to finishing my home management binder…just a few more things to add and of course, the binder will grow as our family does!

I originally was using a bright pink binder from Dollarama but it didn’t have pockets on the inside, which I really wanted.  I remembered that I had a binder downstairs with pockets and a plastic cover so I could add a cover sheet.  My cover sheet isn’t very exciting, but it has space to add the names of any future children we may have, some cute flower stickers and a poem about the family.

I found the poem on an inspirational quotes website :
The family.
We are a strange band of characters
trudging through life sharing diseases and toothpaste
coveting one another’s desserts
hiding shampoo, borrowing money
locking each other out of our rooms,
inflicting pain and kissing to heal it in the same instant
laughing, loving, defending
and trying to figure out the common thread
that bound us all together!

I want to get some pocketed dividers to put in my binder, but for now I just have plain ones.  Here are the different sections (and their contents) that have gone into my home management binder (items I haven’t yet added but intend to are in blue):

Planning:  (a section for all things related to planning, calendars, etc.)
-a list of annual important dates relevant to our family (birthdays, anniversaries)
-a planting calendar to help organize my gardening

Food/Menu:
-our 6-week menu plan
-6 weekly grocery lists to correspond with our menu plan
-a baseball card sheet to hold coupons
-instructions for freezing fresh vegetables
-Canada’s Food Guide for Healthy Eating

Phone/Contact Information:
-our church contact directory
-a list of other important contacts (doctors, dentist, insurance agents, financial advisors)
-baseball card sheet to hold stamps and address labels

Family/School:
-this tab is empty but will fill up once the munchkin starts school and brings home permission slips and other information
-babysitting information sheet
-information sheet for each family member with clothing sizes, etc.

Health/Fitness:
-YMCA Fitness schedule
-immunization information
-Manulife benefits information sheet
-medication lists and medical histories for each family member
-printed CPR/choking information

Finances:
-monthly income/expenses flowsheet…I used to do this digitally, but decided I would rather have a hard copy at my fingertips at any given moment
-copy of monthly budget
-bill paying financial checklist

Home/Car Maintenance:
-laminated home maintenance checklist
-car maintenance log for each vehicle
-home maintenance needs shopping list

Legal:
-passwords for online accounts
-marriage license/birth certificates/passports

Travel:
-generic packing lists
-travel confirmations
-directions to frequently visited places

Holidays:
-gift giving spreadsheet
-Christmas budget, menus, gift list

My regular cleaning checklist will go in front of all the tabs for easy access at all times!  If you want to do a home management binder of your own, head over to IHeart Organizing before April 9 for some free printables!

6 Responses to "Home Management Binder, Almost Complete!"

omg…that this is so full of frightening organizing. I fear the organizing…FEAR it. I shall run away now.

Never fear the organizing…embrace it! You need organizing!

i need no such thing, my life is wonderfully chaotic and i know where most of my stuff is.

Great Binder ! I had so much fun working on mine ! http://www.bargainfun.net

Oh to be as organized as my children & grandchildren!!

Hi, I only just found out about the binders so haven’t created one myself but decided to peruse around and see what everyone came up with and get some great ideas!

That poem you shared is ausome 🙂

Leave a Reply

Archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 274 other followers

Categories

CraftGossip

Featured On:
Organize and Decorate Everything

