Just Call Me Martha Stacey

Home Management Binder

Posted on: March 14, 2011

Jen over at IHeart Organizing offers up monthly organizing challenges and for March, the challenge is to create a home management binder.  I was so glad to read about this at the beginning of the month because I’ve been meaning to actually finish my own home management binder for weeks months a while!  She’s also offering a bunch of super cute free printables just for the month of March, including an automobile maintenance chart that will definitely be going in my binder!

This past week, the task was to find a binder, add tabs and pick categories.  I had a binder and tabs and I had some categories already picked out when I started the binder, including:

  • Planning
  • Food/Menu
  • Phone/Contact Information
  • Family/School
  • Health/Fitness
  • Finances
  • Car & Home Maintenance
  • Legal
  • Travel
  • Holidays

I’m a little behind in the challenge in that I haven’t created a coversheet for my binder yet, but I want to figure out a way to do it so I can add the names of our children as they arrive without having to redo the sheet every time.

I already have some things included in my binder and wanted to share what they were.  I think a home management binder is always a work in progress and will likely be constantly adjusting it to suit our family’s needs as it grows!  So far, I’ve included (by category):

Planning:
-planting calender…to help me plan my garden for succession harvests

Food/Menu:
-pantry and freezer inventories (I really need to get better at using these!)
-instructions for freezing vegetables from the garden
-Canada’s Food Guide
-recipes to try
-6-week menu plan and accompanying grocery shopping lists

Phone/Contact Information:
-church directory
-stamps and address labels

Health:
-YMCA program schedules
-health benefits chart
-immunization records

Finances:
-monthly budget
-bill receipts to be filed

Car/Home Maintenance:
-hubby’s car lease information
-list of home needs
-automobile maintenance list…my father-in-law would be so proud

Legal:
-passports/birth certificates/marriage license
-passwords for online accounts

I don’t have anything in the travel or holiday sections yet but that’s coming!

1 Response to "Home Management Binder"

this sounds like so very much more work than i’m willing to do, lol.

Leave a Reply

Archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 274 other followers

Categories

CraftGossip

Featured On:
Organize and Decorate Everything

