Just Call Me Martha Stacey

Personalized Lasanga Dish

Posted on: March 7, 2011

Between church functions and family gatherings, we bring glass bakeware to various different places.  Previously, I used a black permanent marker to write our family name on the bottom of the dish so if it got lost, it would eventually make its way back home.

But permanent marker isn’t actually permanent on glass that frequently visits the dishwasher.  That’s why I thought this was such a brilliant idea!

I used the Cricut to cut out our last name on the ConTact paper…I had to do it twice because the blade didn’t go through the sticky paper and the backing.  The ConTact paper backing was facing up on the Cricut mat so that we can read the name when the glass dish is sitting normally (not upside down).

I adhered the sticky portion to the bottom of the glass dish, making sure to save the insides of the letter cutouts so my letters weren’t block letters.  I applied the glass etching cream to the bottom of the dish because it’s important not to use the cream where you will eventually have food!

Oh, I got my etching cream from Lee Valley in London for $9.  It’s a tiny little bottle but a little goes a long way.  That said, you do need to be generous with how much cream you put on so it will etch properly without leaving bare spots.  Take time to make the cream even with your brush or the etching will be patchy.  After ten minutes (I left it for probably closer to twenty), it’s okay to rinse off the etching cream.  If you need to do another coat, make sure to rinse it very carefully so the ConTact paper doesn’t come off.  I just did one and it turned out fine.

Please excuse the picture…the flash makes the glass dish look dirty, but it really is clean.  I keep forgetting to take pictures along the way…really need to get better at that!

2 Responses to "Personalized Lasanga Dish"

hahahaha, this would not save my mother’s dishes. they would still end up in my cupboard for months at a time because i would justify it as “that’s my last name too”. she’d have to put, “Kathy Lundy’s dish….bring this back Shannon”

I love this idea! Thanks for sharing it!

Leave a Reply

Archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 274 other followers

Categories

CraftGossip

Featured On:
Organize and Decorate Everything

