Just Call Me Martha Stacey

Mismatched Socks Hanger

Posted on: March 6, 2011

Few things bug me more than having socks come through the wash without their match.

Well, perhaps that’s not true…there’s a lot of things that bug me but single socks are annoying.  We now have a little munchkin, one who loves to take his socks off in various locations in the house and those pairs of socks never seem to come through in the same load of laundry.

I found this idea  by chance, and LOVED it!  It would be a great way to store all the lost socks in one place so when I find one in the wash, I’ll always know exactly where to put it while waiting for its mate.

I started with a leftover piece of MDF I had in the garage.  I debated painting it instead of using Mod Podge like the tutorial dictated, but decided I wasn’t patient enough to prime the MDF, then paint it.

Instead, I used some white card stock and Mod Podged it to the front and sides of the MDF…during the commercials of the NASCAR race (which I’ve discovered aren’t quite long enough!).  I used my Cricut machine to cut out the words “mismatched socks” in black card stock and adhered those with the Mod Podge, also doing a finish coat over the entire piece.

I hot-glued the clothespins along the bottom edge of the MDF…hopefully, using six will be enough!  I left the clothespins bare and will eventually paint them when I’ve decided what colour to accent the laundry room with once it’s finished.  I’m leaning towards red but don’t want to commit right now because I’m sure I’ll change my mind several times before the room is framed and the drywall is up!

The Mod Podge is still a bit wet in the picture, but I couldn’t wait to share it.  I’m running a load of laundry right now, so I may be able to use this craft very soon!

4 Responses to "Mismatched Socks Hanger"

I could use one of those …

I could use about 10 of those…

we just keep all the socks in one clothes basket and dig through it every day. not very effective, but also very easy to put the socks in, lol. i hate mike’s socks with a passion because they’re all black, but all slightly different, so i gave up pairing them a long freaking time ago.

This is a great solution. I have one in my laundry room and love it. Thanks for linking to We’re Organized Wednesday.

Leave a Reply

Archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 274 other followers

Categories

CraftGossip

Featured On:
Organize and Decorate Everything

