Just Call Me Martha Stacey

Master Bedroom Canvas Art

Posted on: January 12, 2011

I had a great plan that didn’t plan out the way I thought it would…this has happened before (remember the kitchen shelf disaster?).

But this time, it didn’t turn into a (complete) disaster.

I bought 3 12×24 inch artist’s canvases with the plan of painting them to create some art for our master bedroom.  The idea was to paint them with the accent colour from my stencilled wall treatment, then add some black scroll details stretching across all three canvases.

This didn’t work because the accent colour, when painted on the plain white of the canvases instead of over the existing wall colour, turned out to be pretty much the same colour as the walls.  That, and I forgot the fact that my creativity is limited to pretty much one medium…scrapbooking.  All other ventures never turn out the way I anticipate so the scrolls looked stupid.

To compensate for these problems, I decided that I would paint the canvases in a metallic blue to coordinate with the bedding and to have my artistic sister paint the scroll details for me.  But when I went to Michael’s (with accent pillow in hand for matching purposes), there was no such paint colour to be found…an entire aisle of acrylic craft paint, and nothing came even close!  Boo!

So I was schleping down the rest of the aisles in defeat and stumbled across some damask wrapping paper.  I scooped it up and thought it could offer a solution to my problem.  I modpodged the wrapping paper to all three canvases…actually, that’s pretty misleading when I say that.  I did one, then it got stashed in our spare room for three months before I got around to finishing the other two.

Admittedly, they’re not perfect.  I couldn’t stop the wrapping paper from wrinkling no matter how much I tried to smooth it out once it was adhered with the Mod Podge.  It gave me the heebie-jeebies but then I stood back and looked again…the wrinkles are only visible up close and amazingly don’t mess with the integrity of the pattern.

They are hung on the wall opposite our stenciled wall treatment and coordinate nicely with the new baskets I got from JYSK to put in our IKEA Expedit unit!

1 Response to "Master Bedroom Canvas Art"

I know I already told you this, but I love the the wrinkles gave you the heebie-jeebies. Also, it’s very nice looking.

Leave a Reply

Archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 274 other followers

Categories

CraftGossip

Featured On:
Organize and Decorate Everything

