Just Call Me Martha Stacey

Cookie Party: Cheater Shortbread

Posted on: December 7, 2010

This is absolutely my favourite recipe for shortbread cookies.  I had no idea for most of my childhood that it wasn’t ‘real’ shortbread.  What a shock it was when I moved out and asked my mom for the recipe…she responded by asking, “You mean you want the cheater shortbread recipe, right?”  Stunned, I was.

But anyways, it’s still my favourite and this recipe was my contribution, cookie-wise to my recent cookie exchange party!

1 cup butter
1 cup shortening
1 cup brown sugar, packed
1 cup cornstarch
3-1/2 cups unsifted flour
1 tsp vanilla
1 tsp salt

Combine and roll into 1/4 inch thickness on a lightly floured surface.  Cut out small shapes and place on baking sheet.  Bake at 300 degrees for 15 minutes and cool on a wire rack.  Yield depends on the size of your cookie cutters.

Toffee Bars on top tier, Shortbread on middle tier and Turtle Cookies on bottom tier

Leave a Reply

Archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 274 other followers

Categories

CraftGossip

Featured On:
Organize and Decorate Everything

