Just Call Me Martha Stacey

Budget Jars

Posted on: November 23, 2010

As I mentioned previously here, we have a lot of applesauce jars kicking around from our baby’s dietary needs and I’ve been looking for things to do with them around the home.

Once I head back to work, my husband and I are going to be aggressively trying to pay off our debt.  I love watching the television show ‘Til Debt Do Us Part’, which features couples who are trying to do the same thing.  One thing the host, Gail Vaz-Oxlade tells the participants is that they should pay for everything in cash because it forces them to really think about what they’re spending their money on instead of using credit or debit.  She gives them glass jars to divide their monthy income up to help them control their discretionary spending.

I thought this was a good idea to try because I tend to hang on to actual cash a little tighter than when I’m buying things I don’t need with credit or my debit card.  I made three jars for restaurants, entertainment and clothing/gifts, which are three categories Gail uses in her budgets and areas where our money can sometimes run away from us.  I didn’t do a jar for groceries, because this goes on my credit card and is paid off every month so I can collect AirMiles to trade for RONA gift cards, which in turn leads to more home improvement projects!

I had three applesauce jars and I created three cute labels from scrapbooking paper and fancy scissors.  I adhered the labels to the jars with clear packing tape so the labels aren’t ruined if something gets spilled on them.  They’re now waiting for the beginning of the month to get money added.

2 Responses to "Budget Jars"

Mine would have to have different labels. they would be as follows: Timmies/Fast Food; Video Games/DVD’s; and Random Impulse Purchases. For these are the things that suck up most of my money

haha, nice….bryan says the entertainment money will end up in the restaurant jar because we don’t go see movies a lot. i figure that’s okay so long as we don’t spend more than what’s in the jars

Leave a Reply

Archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 274 other followers

Categories

CraftGossip

Featured On:
Organize and Decorate Everything

