Just Call Me Martha Stacey

Homemade Pizza Sauce

Posted on: November 20, 2010

I’ve mentioned before that I like to make my own pizza dough from scratch.  Well, I make pizza sauce as well.  I whipped up a batch today and thought I would share the recipe that I adapted from one found on Allrecipes.com.  I usually use about 1/4 cup of sauce for a 12″ pizza crust, so this recipe makes 22 servings.  We eat homemade pizza once a week so that means I spent 45 minutes three times a year making sauce…totally worth the cost savings!

5 cloves of garlic, minced (we like garlic!)
3 tbsp olive or vegetable oil
1 large (28oz) can of crushed tomatoes
1-1/6 cup of tomato paste…almost an entire large can
2-1/3 cup of water
2 tbsp brown sugar
1 tbsp basil
1 tbsp oregano
1 tsp crushed red chili flakes
salt and pepper

In a large saucepan, saute garlic in oil until tender.  Add remaining ingredients and bring to a boil.  Reduce heat and simmer, uncovered for half an hour or until desired thickness has been reached.

I freeze the sauce in 1/2cup portions in 1 cup canning jars.  The sauce will keep in the refrigerator for up to a week, so I thaw it and use half one week, the remaining the next.

Leave a Reply

Archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 274 other followers

Categories

CraftGossip

Featured On:
Organize and Decorate Everything

