Just Call Me Martha Stacey

Mirror/Candle Centrepiece

Posted on: November 18, 2010

I found this idea on a blog I follow, Thrifty Decor Chick and I loved it!  I’d been looking for a centrepiece to replace the one we were currently using…an IKEA seven-candle holder.  It was adequate and allowed lots of space for serving dishes on the table but I wanted something grander.  I love that I could add seasonal accents to dress it up for Thanksgiving and Christmas too!

My friend (you can read her blog about our thrift shopping adventures here) and I browsed some London thrift shops in search of these cylinders…so if you want to try this project, you may want to wait until more have been donated because I probably bought out the city!  I wanted them in different sizes and that’s just what I got…16 of them for $26.

I debated what to cover the glass cylinders with to create a warm, soft glow once the candles were lit.  I considered fabric but decided against it.  I considered vellum paper until I couldn’t find ANY at Michael’s (unbelievable, right?  Unless I’m completely blind, which might be the case.).  Then, while I was watching TV, it hit me (literally, I had a total epiphany)…frosted glass spray!  I had just picked some up from Rona for $9 to use on our front door window so I already had it on hand (the can is now empty and the front door window never got done…oops!)

I sprayed the cylinders on our front porch…as I’ve mentioned before here, it’s VERY important to follow the instructions and use the frosted glass spray outside.  The can says outside, or a well-ventilated area, but I wouldn’t use it anywhere inside…the odour is extremely strong!

For the base, I had some MDF left over from my disastrous kitchen shelves and some chair rail from my baby’s bedroom.   The mirror I picked up at a thrift shop for $4.  I took the frame off, which was shockingly easy and only required the removal of a few staples from the back.

The MDF needed to be trimmed, the chair rail cut with a mitre saw and the mirror cut down smaller.  I really did have full intentions of doing this (mostly) myself…honestly.  The mirror needed to be cut smaller and the mitre saw was misbehaving so we went to my in-laws to use their glass and mitre saws.  My father-in-law and hubby cut the mirror, chair rail and MDF to the proper sizes.  They also went ahead and nailed the chair rail around the edge of the MDF base for me.  The mirror broke during this process but since I could cover it with the glass cylinders, I didn’t bother to buy another one.

I brought the assembled base home and added wood filler in all the nail holes before I sanded it with my dad’s electric handheld sander…love this power tool!

I primed the MDF portion of the base with two coats of primer…and would have used more if I’d known just how much the paint would soak into the cut edges of the MDF.  Oh well, hindsight is 20/20, I guess.  I painted it with some black spray paint and left it to dry overnight.  I ended up doing probably 5 coats of paint around the edge of the frame over the cut edges of MDF…it kept soaking in too much.

After it was dry,  I glued the mirror in place and left it (again overnight) to dry and I left three paint cans on top of the mirror for extra weight so it got a good bond with the glue.  Once that was done, all I had to do was place the glass cylinders on the mirror, making sure to cover the crack.  Now admittedly, I still have a few minor things to do, but I wouldn’t wait to show it to you.  I still need to put some silicone caulking around the edge of the mirror and add some furniture slip pads on the bottom so it’s easier to move on the table but those tasks won’t take long at all.  I’m so excited about my new centrepieces…here are a few pictures of the finished product!

Linking To: I Heart Organizing: Spray Paint Link Party

12 Responses to "Mirror/Candle Centrepiece"

AwWwWesome!

It looks great!!

Absolutely stunning. I would LOVE one of these for my blah coffee table. Thanks for sharing the tutorial! šŸ™‚
Amie @ http://kittycatsandairplanes.blogspot.com

[…] on your holiday table. To find out how to dress up your table with this pretty centerpiece, check out Just Call Me Martha Stacey. You may also […]

I just wanted to stop by and let you know that I linked to this post today from the Home & Garden channel at Craft Gossip. šŸ™‚

Your feature will appear in the main Craft Gossip RSS feed, on the main home page and can be found directly here
http://homeandgarden.craftgossip.com/mirror-candle-centerpiece/

If you would like a “featured by” button, you can grab one here!
http://homeandgarden.craftgossip.com/grab-a-craft-gossip-button/

I love love love this!!! I have a couple of mirrors I picked up at yard sales, and have been trying to decide what to do with them… and now I know!! In fact, I am decorating for a company Christmas party shortly, and will incorporate your ideas into a special centerpiece for one of the more important tables… thanks for the inspiration! The frosted cylinders are beautiful, and I love the effect. Happy Thanksgiving!

[…] my Mirror/Candle Centrepiece?Ā  Well, I left some space for seasonal decor to be added and that’s what I did.Ā  I added […]

Looks fabulous. And now I see why I can’t find any of those holders here in london. Just joking!

That looks great! I never would have thought of frosted spray paint. I have a bunch of these cylinder vases left over from my wedding. I’ve been using them for all sorts of things. Now, I’ve got one more idea!

Wow, so pretty! And it’s nice and low so you can leave it on there during meals and still see the people across from you. Did you have all those frosted candle holders just sitting around, or did you get them specially? If so, where? I love them!

I bought a bunch of regular glass cylinder candle holders at thrift shops and sprayed them with frosted glass spray paint

Leave a Reply

Archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 274 other followers

Categories

CraftGossip

Featured On:
Organize and Decorate Everything

