Just Call Me Martha Stacey

Menu Plan Monday-November 8

Posted on: November 8, 2010

It struck me the other day that I go back to work in less than three months from my maternity leave…Eeek!  SO NOT READY!  There are too many things to buy (new sweater to replace my tattered white one, new shoes, perhaps some new uniforms)…daycare to arrange…like I said, not ready!

One thing I’ve really loved about maternity leave is not having to worry about prepping meals more than one day in advance.  Since I work 12 hour shifts, the last thing I want to do when I get home is spend an hour cooking dinner.  Prior to going on maternity leave, I had a six-week menu plan that corresponded with my work schedule, which rotates throughout the week.

I had it worked out so I could spend the day before my Day-Day-Night-Night schedule started making supper for the night between my two days…or I would make this meal ahead of time and pull it out of the freezer.  The second day, we’d have frozen pizza.  When I had to work nights, I made sure to plan meals that quick to prepare to maximize my sleeping time!

This time around, I’m going for the same concept but we’re not in the habit of buying frozen pizza anymore since I now make it from scratch.  So we’ll still be having pizza on an almost weekly basis, because both hubby and I love pizza, but it will be when I’m working nights instead of days.  Also, I’m going to have two ready-to-bake meals prepared for when I work days so that my hubby can pop them in the oven and dinner will be ready when I walk in the door!  You’ll notice that we have stirfry quite often as well…a great way to use up leftover vegetables and work a vegetarian meal into the week!

Over the next six weeks, I’ll be posting my six-week menu plan every Monday.  I start the week on Monday, instead of Sunday for grocery shopping purposes…too many times I flip to the next week and realize I don’t have the things I need for Sunday dinner.  I haven’t included side dishes because these vary depending on what vegetables are on sale on any given week.

Week One Menu Plan:
Monday (DAYS):  Shephard’s Pie
Tuesday (NIGHTS):  Parmesan Chicken
Wednesday (NIGHTS):  Herbed Pork Chops
Thursday:  Meatballs
Friday:  Garlic Chicken Spaghetti
Saturday:  Lasagna in a Bun
Sunday:  Stirfry

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

Archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 274 other followers

Categories

CraftGossip

Featured On:
Organize and Decorate Everything

