Just Call Me Martha Stacey

My First Turkey with Stuffing Adventure!

Posted on: October 12, 2010

This is the second post in my Thanksgiving recipe series…turkey!  This recipe is from Taste of Home’s Cookbook.

I don’t eat stuffing myself, and so thought that I shouldn’t have to serve it at our Thanksgiving gathering, but several members of my family informed me otherwise :)…so I had to tackle it anyway.  Turned out well!

2 large onions, chopped
2 celery ribs, chopped
1/2 pound fresh mushroom, sliced
1/2 cup butter
14.5 oz chicken broth
1/3 cup minced fresh parsley
2 tsp rubbed sage (I used 2tbsp fresh from my garden)
1 tsp salt
1 tsp poultry seasoning
1/2 tsp pepper
12 cups cubed bread (the recipe call it unseasoned stuffing cubes…don’t know why)
warm water
1 14-16 pound turkey

  1. In large skillet, saute onions, celery and mushrooms in butter until tender.  Add broth and seasonings; mix well.
  2. Place bread cubes in large bowl, add mushroom mixture and toss to coat.  Stir in enough warm water to reach desired moistness.  Loosely stuff turkey.   Place remaining stuffing in greased baking dish; cover and refrigerate.  Remove dish from refrigerator 30 minutes before baking.
  3. Skewer turkey openings; tie drumsticks together.  Place breast side up on a rack in roasting pan.  Brush with melted butter (I seasoned the skin with salt, pepper and poultry seasoning first).
  4. Bake turkey, uncovered at 325 degrees for 3-3/4 to 4-1/2 hours or until a meat thermometer reads 180 degrees when inserted into inner middle thigh.  Baste occasionally with pan drippings and cover with foil if browns too quickly.
  5. Bake additional stuffing, covered for 30 minutes.  Uncover; bake 10 minutes longer or until lightly browned.
  6. Cover turkey with foil and let stand for 20 minutes before removing stuffing and carving.  Thicken pan drippings for gravy.
2 Responses to "My First Turkey with Stuffing Adventure!"

I’m hungry all over again ….

[…] -try two new recipes  I roasted my first turkey and made caramel chocolate cheesecake for […]

Leave a Reply

Archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 274 other followers

Categories

CraftGossip

Featured On:
Organize and Decorate Everything

