Just Call Me Martha Stacey

Oven-Roasted Tomatoes

Posted on: September 9, 2010

I made some oven-roasted tomatoes today, and they were SO good on our pasta for dinner.  It’s a very easy recipe, once you get through the tedium of seeding three pounds of tomatoes!  The recipe below calls for you to discard the inside flesh of the tomato as well as the seeds, but I used that as well because it seemed like a huge waste otherwise!  The original recipe is from sparkpeople.com but I tweaked it a little (in that I didn’t measure my spices, just eyeballed it!)

-3lbs tomatoes
-2 tbsp olive oil
-4 cloves of garlic (original recipe calls for 3, but we love garlic!)
-rosemary, basil, oregano, sage, thyme and red chili flakes (I didn’t measure but probably about 1/2tsp-1tsp of each)
-pepper to taste

-preheat oven to 275
-seed tomatoes and chop into small pieces
-toss with remaining ingredients and spread on baking sheet/roasting rack (I used a baking sheet because I don’t have a roasting rack…I don’t know if using a roasting rack would make them dry out further)
-roast for 2 hours…I stirred my tomatoes half way through to ensure even roasting

I find that the portioning in the original recipe is weird…it says you should get 12 servings…I think as prepared above, I will get four meals out of it…I put the tomatoes over pasta, with chicken, peppers and mushrooms tonight for dinner with some parmesan cheese.  Delicious!

1 Response to "Oven-Roasted Tomatoes"

[…] I haven’t used before I made ribs for my hubby’s birthday! -try two new recipes I made oven-roasted tomatoes and a tomato/onion penne pasta recipe -make baby food for my son I made pears, peaches, carrots, […]

Leave a Reply

Archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 274 other followers

Categories

CraftGossip

Featured On:
Organize and Decorate Everything

