Just Call Me Martha Stacey

Back From Vacay!

Posted on: August 29, 2010

My hubby, baby and I just arrived back from a wonderfully relaxing weekend at a rented cottage with my mother’s side of the family.  It was quite the time…21.5 people in a cottage with 1.5 bathrooms.  As much as that math sounds like it wouldn’t work out, it actually did.

We arrived at the cottage around 4:30 and were surprised to find that we were the first ones there.  We were even more surprised to find that there was not a single square of toilet paper to be found anywhere in the place (good thing our baby isn’t to the point where he requires toilet paper!)!  The others arrived a while later, and much to everyone’s chagrin, they had forgotten to get toilet paper!  Yikes!

But I digress…this problem was quickly solved by a quick trip to the store and we were able to move on to more entertaining activities…like reading all the rules posted around this cottage.  By far the most amusing one was the sign asking us to please not touch the wallpaper…I’m not kidding.  Apparently, it’s very absorbent and not washable.  Of course, this only made us want to touch the walls that much more and it was overwhelmingly the most common joke throughout the week.

Sunday was rainy and miserable, so a lot of time was spent indoors with a good book and a few games.  I am definitely the queen of Dutch Blitz.

Monday brought sunny weather, which stayed around for the rest of the week, much to our delight.  There was massive amount of waterskiing, tubing, wakeboarding and wakesurfing…and my hubby can no longer claim that my uncles have never tipped him off the tube.  My sister and I picked BY FAR the windiest day to swim around one of the islands in the lake, much to the displeasure of my now gimpy knee from all the breaststroke I had to do because the water was too choppy for freestyle.

All in all, a great week catching up with family, even if my dad and cousin never did get their platter of sandwiches delivered to the dock.

Tags:

4 Responses to "Back From Vacay!"

As I recall, for a while there we were down to 20.5 people to 1 bathroom … thanks to the slight case of food poisoning.

Sounds like you guys all had a great time, hope it was awesome. I’m jealous of the fun on the lake, it’s been a long time since I got to do stuff like that.

[…] get very far…the traffic flow is somewhat impeded by our suitcases from our recent vacation.  I did find a box of things I had already decided to get rid of and added some stamps and sewing […]

Leave a Reply

Archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 274 other followers

Categories

CraftGossip

Featured On:
Organize and Decorate Everything

