Just Call Me Martha Stacey

Painted Planters

Posted on: July 24, 2010

I love using fresh herbs in my cooking and baking.  And buying fresh herbs from the grocery store in the winter is a rip-off, especially when I could grow my own herbs indoors.  But to this point, I haven’t had the ambition to do so.

But this year, I will.  I’ve picked eight herbs that I use on a regular basis, or would use if I had easy access to them.  I’m going to grow rosemary, chives, parsley, basil, sage, thyme, oregano and peppermint.  We have a wide window in our family room that gets a lot of sunlight throughout the day, and its windowsill is going to be the location of my indoor herb garden.

I bought eight 4″ terracotta pots and saucers (30% at my local garden centre during their customer appreciation sale!) and spray painted them with a glossy white finish.  I had some Leaf Green acrylic paint left over from a few other projects, so I painted the rim of the pots and saucers, which really made them pop.  I also used a pencil eraser to make uniform polka dots over the pots in the green colour (this is great for covering up small flaws in the paint!).  This green colour coordinates well with the storage cubes I bought from Shoppers Drug Mart a while back.  I can’t wait to pot my herbs and watch them grow over the course of the winter!

Tags:

2 Responses to "Painted Planters"

so what you’re telling me is, you think that your kid isn’t going to dig in your indoor plants when he starts to walk? hahaha, good one stace. they’d better be up high away from tiny people. good idea though…i’m going to have to wander over and steal some herbs.

they’re high enough that he won’t be able to play with them…and i could just pull the drapes closed to keep them out of sight and out of mind for munchkins

Leave a Reply

Archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 274 other followers

Categories

Top Posts & Pages

CraftGossip

Featured On:
Organize and Decorate Everything

