Just Call Me Martha Stacey

Dishwasher Confusion…Gone!

Posted on: July 7, 2010

The other day, I took the baby to the doctor’s office.  Before I left, I had every intention of asking my hubby to unload and reload the dishwasher for me since a stockpile of dishes were slowly forming on the kitchen counter.  I forgot.  My hubby, however, HAD  decided to unload the dishwasher for me, but couldn’t because he didn’t know if the dishes were clean or dirty…apparently, the dishwasher missed a few spots on the dishes he checked for cleanliness.

That evening, I came across this idea, and was inspired.  So this morning, with a little help from my Cricut machine, some packing tape and some leftover magnets, I created my own signs to avoid this type of confusion in the future (and to make sure my hubby (and children eventually) can’t claim that they didn’t know if the dishes were clean or dirty).  I think this will also apply to loading the dishwasher as well…he does this thing where the dishes make it to the counter on top of the dishwasher, but not actually into the dishwasher!

I cut the letters out on my Cricut machine and arranged them on the decorative paper.  I used a little bit of double-sided tape to secure them, then cut them out in a funky shape before covering both sides with packing tape (I suppose I could have gotten them laminated, but I wanted this project done NOW!).  I didn’t have any velcro as the linked post showed, but I did have some leftover sheet magnets from our prenatal classes, which I cut out to match the shape of the signs and used regular white glue to secure them.  Now hubby will always know if the dishes are dirty or clean (provided I remember to change the sign accordingly)!

Cost for this project:  $0 as I already had all the supplies around the house!

Tags:

4 Responses to "Dishwasher Confusion…Gone!"

very creative, it’s quite lovely. though, you could have saved yourself a lot of trouble and just taught hubby that if there isn’t any crap all over the bottom of the dishwasher, it’s probably clean. that’s what I used to judge it by, hahaha. Awesome job, Stace.

meh, it was no trouble…took less than 10 minutes

I was just reading this when my hubby said, “Why not cut to the chase and just write load / unload?” Then it is foolproof! It made me laugh, so I thought I’d share.

oh man…if only i’d thought of that first! 🙂

Leave a Reply

Archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 274 other followers

Categories

CraftGossip

Featured On:
Organize and Decorate Everything

