Just Call Me Martha Stacey

Paint Chip Art

Posted on: June 28, 2010

I found this idea a while ago, watching “She’s Crafty” with Wendy Russell on CBC.  She has some interesting projects, most of which I wouldn’t use in my own home, but this one caught my eye.  I collected paint chips from my neighbourhood Walmart over the past few weeks and picked up some frames from Dollarama this morning.  Assuming you get paint chips that have six different colours (as Walmart does), you’d need 13 paint chips to fill two 8×10 frames.  I cut the paint chips into 1 inch squares, and this was by FAR the most irritating tedious part of the project.  I don’t know exactly how long it took, as I stopped for supper and to feed the munchkin twice, but thank goodness for my Fiskars paper trimmer!  After making sure they were all spaced (relatively) evenly, I taped the chips in place and after hanging them on the wall in our downstairs bathroom, I was finished!  Total cost:  less than $5!

BTW-I got my Rona gift card (yay for AirMiles redemptions) in the mail today, so I’ll be off to Rona in the next little while for supplies and more projects will be forthcoming!

2 Responses to "Paint Chip Art"

wow, i can’t imagine having the motivation to actually do home projects like this. I always have the desire to do this stuff, but never the actual motivation to get it done. I have an entire Rubbermaid bin in the basement filled with art supplies and all kinds of craft stuff, and it just sits there. you kind of make me feel lazy, haha.

haha…take one of the days during your extra long weekend coming up and do something

Leave a Reply

Archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 274 other followers

Categories

CraftGossip

Featured On:
Organize and Decorate Everything

