Just Call Me Martha Stacey

Glass Etching Project

Posted on: June 9, 2010

Today, I embarked upon another DIY decor project, this time both practical and pretty.  I was inspired by this frosted glass project (http://www.centsationalgirl.com/2009/09/frosted-glass-five-ways/) and finally got around to attempting the project myself.  Instead of frosted glass spray paint, I decided to try my hand at glass etching cream, which I picked up at my local Lee Valley store for approximately $9.  I found the glass carafes (which have a plastic top that I’m very appreciative of since they will be used for storing water on our bedside tables) at Walmart for $3 each.  After carefully reading both sets of instructions (one from Martha Stewart’s project http://www.marthastewart.com  and the ones that came with the etching cream), I donned my long sleeve shirt and rubber gloves, which was no picnic considering the temperature and humidity!  I had previously taped off the area I wanted to have frosted and used stickers to form the words on the glass so it would remain clear.  My first application of the etching cream didn’t go terribly well…the cream has to be put on much thicker than I anticipated.  After two additional (and thicker) applications, the frosted area was looking much better, but still not fabulous so I’ll have to do a few touchups tomorrow.  The difficulty with etching cream is that the full frosted effect doesn’t appear until after the glass has completely dried so it’s hard to tell right away if the etching is uneven.  I want to do our front door window so salespeople strangers can’t see right into our house when they ring the doorbell but I think I’ll look for the frosted glass paint for that project.

5 Responses to "Glass Etching Project"

all in all, after the clarifying conversation on facebook, a lovely project indeed. were i motivated enough, i might do things like this. however, my spare time usually ends up being eaten away by a desperate need to beat the video games that mike keeps beating before me. i hate when he’s ahead of me.

Your project turned out so lovely ! I have yet to use the etching cream, but tons of DIYers love it . . . perhaps during the holidays ! Thanks for the linky love.

xoxo
Kate

If you’d like something frosty for your front door that is even easier (and somewhat less permanent) you could try a frosted window film. It goes on just like window tint for your car. I think it is even available at Ikea.

oh, that’s a good idea…and would give me an excuse to go to IKEA 🙂

Amazing! This blog looks exactly like my old one! It’s on a entirely different topic
but it has pretty much the same layout and design.
Excellent choice of colors!

Leave a Reply

Archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 274 other followers

Categories

CraftGossip

Featured On:
Organize and Decorate Everything

