Just Call Me Martha Stacey

(One of) My Hubby’s Favourite Meals

Posted on: June 1, 2010

My hubby LOVES Taco Pasta Shells.  When I planned my meal plan for this week on Sunday, I told him that I had decided to make Taco Pasta Shells on Monday and he was absolutely elated.  However, my plans were (happily) foiled because we were invited to my aunt and uncle’s house for a BBQ with the extended family.  Good times and good food, but it meant that hubby had to wait for his favourite meal.  I found the recipe on the Taste of Home website, which is my go-to online source for new recipes (www.tasteofhome.com).  I have modified the recipe to serve two people and to account for the fact that I can’t find bottled taco sauce anywhere…I use salsa instead.  I’m sorry if the proportions are a little off, I just eyeball the ingredients now and don’t measure.  I may experiment the next time I make this recipe, to see if it is freezer-friendly.

  • 10 uncooked jumbo pasta shells
  • 1/2 pounds lean ground beef
  • 1/3 cup salsa
  • 1/4 cup low-fat cream cheese
  • 1 tablespoon taco seasoning
  • 1/2 cup shredded cheddar cheese, divided
  • crushed tortilla chips, about a handful

Cook pasta according to package directions (I would start the pasta before browning meat so it is cool enough to handle by the time the meat mixture is ready).  Meanwhile, brown meat in non-stick skillet and drain off fat.  Add cream cheese, taco seasoning and salsa.  Stir until cheese is melted and mixture is well combined.  Add most of cheddar cheese to beef mixture (reserve approximately two tablespoons for later use.).  Stuff pasta with beef and cheese mixture.  Bake at 350° for 20 minutes in a greased baking dish covered with foil.  Remove foil and sprinkle remaining cheddar cheese over shells; return to oven for 5 minutes.  Remove and sprinkle shells with crushed tortilla chips.

4 Responses to "(One of) My Hubby’s Favourite Meals"

interesting, though i hate tacos, i’m sure mike would love this. perhaps next time JP is over, i’ll cook this for them and make myself something tasty (KD comes to mind)

they don’t taste especially like tacos…you could always cut the amount of taco seasoning

[…] Chops Monday-Meatloaf Tuesday-Stirfry Wednesday-Stew Thursday (DAYS)-Greek Pasta Bake Friday (DAYS)-Taco Pasta Shells Saturday (NIGHTS)-Homemade […]

[…] hubby has been spoiled lately…on Thursday, we had his most favourite meal, Taco Pasta Shells and tonight we’re having his #2 favourite, Beef in Mushroom Gravy.  He’d eat these […]

Leave a Reply

Archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 274 other followers

Categories

CraftGossip

Featured On:
Organize and Decorate Everything

